LTSS stakeholder work group holds third meeting

Last week, the Department of Human Services (DHS) facilitated the third meeting of the LTSS Stakeholder Work Group. The work group is a result of Gov. Dennis Daugaard’s executive reorganization that created the Division of Long Term Services and Supports (LTSS) and transition of certain DSS services to DHS. The purpose of the work group is to set goals regarding LTSS in community settings for long-term care.

The group consists of members representing providers and consumers across all areas of LTSS as well as state legislators Sen. Deb Soholt and Rep. Jean Hunhoff. SDAHO members include Mark Burket from Platte Care Center Avera and Jen Porter, vice president, post-acute care.

The goals set for LTSS in community settings are the following:

  • Long term services and supports are available to people in their home communities
  • Family caregivers receive the help they need to support people at home
  • The state will utilize best practices to address needs and develop services
  • Expand the long term services and supports workforce

Upcoming changes will include a marketing awareness and communication plan to change the current ADRC name to Dakota at Home as well as addressing waiver changes through required waiver amendment processes. The state was also recently awarded a lifespan respite grant from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services’ Administration for Community Living (ACL). States receiving the grant are required to plan for and establish a lifespan respite care system, including emergency respite services, training and recruiting respite workers and assisting caregivers with gaining access to needed services. The grant project runs through August, 2020.

The next and final quarterly meeting is planned for March 14, 2018, in Pierre.