Advancing healthy communities through a unified voice across the health care continuum.


We envision communities throughout South Dakota where everyone reaches their highest potential for health.

Our Story

Serving as the voice for South Dakota’s hospitals and healthcare organizations encompassing the full continuum of care, the South Dakota Association of Healthcare Organizations (SDAHO) represents a diverse membership with the goal of ensuring the highest quality of health care for South Dakotans.

The association is a not-for-profit organization spanning various types of institutional ownership, geographic location, size, and complexities of service. Members include hospitals, health care systems, nursing facilities, home health agencies, assisted living centers, and hospice organizations. Originally formed in 1926 as the South Dakota Hospital Association, in 1995 SDAHO united both acute and post-acute care providers under one unified vision advocating for a flourishing health care industry.

SDAHO serves its membership through information, education, and advocacy on the issues, challenges, and solutions delivering quality health care to a widespread and varied population. By staying abreast of the changing dynamics in a demanding industry, SDAHO is a trusted resource and leading advocate for its members as well as area policymakers.


The central office is located in Sioux Falls, SD and is under the direction of the President & CEO, Tim Rave who serves at the pleasure of, and is responsible to, the Board of Trustees.

Our staff is divided into five areas of responsibility: Advocacy and Member Relations, Acute & Post-Acute Services, Education, Business Development, and Quality Integration.

The association is financed principally through membership dues; however, grants, contracts and business development relationships have become integral to the operation.