Daugaard fills three legislative vacancies

Gov. Dennis Daugaard has filled three vacancies in the South Dakota State Legislature in advance of the special legislative session he called to consider legislation relating to implementation of sales tax on online sellers.

The three appointees, all Republicans, are:

  • Margaret “Maggie” Sutton of Sioux Falls as state senator to represent District 10. Sutton will succeed Sen. Jenna Netherton, who resigned in April.
  • Rebecca Reimer of Oacoma as state representative for District 26B. Reimer will succeed Rep. Jim Schaefer, who died in May.
  • Scyller J. Borglum of Rapid City as state representative for District 32. Borglum will succeed Rep. Sean McPherson, who died in April.

Detailed maps of all three districts are available here.

Sutton, Reimer and Borglum are currently candidates for their respective seats in the 2018 general election. The appointments are effective immediately and run until the newly-elected state legislature convenes in Jan. 2019.