SDAHO explores workforce collaboration opportunities with Mount Marty College

Mary Anne Krogh, Ph.D.

At their March meeting held on the campus of Mount Marty College, members of the South Dakota Association of Healthcare Organizations (SDAHO) board of trustees met with Marcus Long, Ph.D, president of the college, to learn more about the ways the college is working to address important workforce challenges in South Dakota and across the region.

The group discussed current programs involving bachelor’s degree in nursing (RN) and advanced nursing including nurse practitioner (NP) and nurse anesthetist (CRNA) and the importance of increasing the number of clinical rotation sites for these and other programs. The group agreed to hold future meetings to explore opportunities for collaboration between the two organizations involving internships, research and other possible areas.

To strengthen and support these efforts, the college recently announced that Mary Anne Krogh, Ph.D., has been named dean of nursing and health sciences. She previously was the program director for the nurse anesthesia program. In her new role she will have responsibility for all undergraduate and graduate nursing programs and outreach efforts. Dr. Krogh is a fellow of the American Academy of Nursing.

In addition, Diane Smith, Ph.D., chief nursing administrator at the college has been named the Sacred Heart Hospital endowed chair for nursing. In addition to teaching responsibilities in community health, she will conduct research in mental health and addiction. Lastly, Jennifer Oakes, DNAP, simulation lab coordinator for MMC’s nurse anesthesia program, as been named program director of the nurse anesthesia program.