Hospice Service Areas

Hospice provides comprehensive care for terminally ill people with a short life prognoses. Currently, in the state of South Dakota, there are three major hospital systems that provide the majority of hospice coverage: Avera Health, Sanford Health, and Monument Health. All hospice centers must offer certain Medicare covered services in order to be an official hospice. As a rural state with an increasing aging population, South Dakota experiences unique challenges in access to hospice care that require innovative solutions. On this map, the pink areas are service coverage by radius and the blue areas are service coverage by county. All uncovered areas do not have access to hospice.

Zoom to view Facility Names.

Please note, agencies may not service areas outside of the South Dakota State boundaries.

RED is service area by mileage and BLUE is service area by counties