Catching the “big ones” in northeastern South Dakota

The winning team included (L to R) Tyson Keller, Nick Fosness and Jerry Tveidt.

The 31st Annual SDAHO Walleye Classic is history and the record books will show that Nick Fosness, administrator/CEO of Marshall County Healthcare Center Avera in Britton, captained his team of Tyson Keller and Jerry Tveidt to a win with 28.88 pounds of walleye. Fosness also caught the largest walleye at 6.95 pounds.

The second place team of Robert Scheckler, Larry Miles and Eric Miles came in at a very close second place with 28.04 pounds. Third place honors went to the team of Clayton Peterson, Joel Peterson and Kerry Wagner.

Tim Chandler caught the largest non-walleye fish, a northern pike, weighing 8.39 pounds.

Glacial Lakes Hunting Lodge in Florence, SD, was the command post for the tournament with fishing taking place on several Glacial Lakes, including Indian Springs, Waubay, Reed and Horseshoe.

Thank you to everyone who participated in the tournament – and a big shout-out to Tim Chandler of Glacial Lakes Hunting Lodge for hosting the event!