Four rural South Dakota hospitals recognized as best in nation

The National Rural Health Association (NRHA) selected the top 20 rural community hospitals in the nation and South Dakota had the honor of having four hospitals on the list, including Avera Queen of Peace Hospital in Mitchell, Avera St. Luke’s Hospital in Aberdeen, Avera St. Mary’s Hospital in Pierre and Prairie Lakes Healthcare Systems in Watertown.

HRHA selects the top 20 from a list of 100 rural community hospitals as determined by The Chartis Center for Rural Health. The 20 overall winners were picked for achieving success based on the Hospital Strength Index, a nationwide hospital rating system along with eight indices: Inpatient market share, outpatient market share, quality, outcomes, patient perspective, cost, charge and financial stability.