Johnson, Noem win at the polls

With nearly 63 percent of registered voters in South Dakota turning out to cast a ballot, it was a clean sweep for Republicans in South Dakota’s top statewide races. Kristi Noem narrowly defeated Democrat candidate Billie Sutton for governor, while Dusty Johnson won the US Representative race. Amendment W, which the South Dakota Association of Healthcare Organizations opposed, was defeated with 55 percent of the voters saying no to the amendment.

All South Dakota election results can be found here.

Statewide Election Results:

  • United States Representative – Dusty Johnson (R)
  • Governor and Lt. Governor – Kristi Noem and Larry Rhoden (R)
  • Secretary of State – Steve Barnett (R)
  • Attorney General – Jason Ravnsborg (R)
  • State Auditor – Rich Sattgast (R)
  • State Treasurer – Josh Haeder (R)
  • Commissioner of School and Public Lands – Ryan Brunner (R)
  • Public Utilities Commissioner – Kristie Fiegen (R)

Statewide Ballot Questions:

  • Constitutional Amendment W – Not passed. Amendment W was an initiated amendment to the South Dakota Constitution changing campaign finance and lobbying laws, creating a government accountability board and changing certain initiative and referendum provisions
  • Initiated Measure 24 – Passed. IM 24 was an initiated measure prohibiting  contributions to ballot question committees by non-residents, out-of-state political committees and entities that are not filed with the Secretary of State.Initiated Measure 25 – Not Passed. IM 25 was an initiated measure increasing the state tobacco tax and creating a postsecondary technical institute fund for the purposes of lowering student tuition and providing financial support to the state postsecondary technical institutes.
  • Constitutional Amendment X – Not Passed. Amendment X was an amendment to the Constitution of the State of South Dakota relating to amendments to the Constitution.
  • Constitutional Amendment Z – Passed. Amendment Z was an amendment to the Constitution of the State of South Dakota relating to the amendments to the Constitution.