Quality Excellence Awards

The Quality Excellence Awards recognize outstanding achievements, innovation and effective quality improvement and patient safety projects. There are three categories based on the type of facility: small/critical access hospital, large/PPS hospital and post-acute care facility. Winners within each category will be presented to health care facility’s demonstrating successful implementation strategies that have produced or have the potential to produce performance improvement in AIM areas.



  • Madison Regional Health System, Madison
  • Sioux Falls VA Health System, Sioux Falls
  • Kadoka Nursing Home, Kadoka
  • Avera McKennan Hospital and University Health Center, Sioux Falls


  • Avera Sister James Care Center, Yankton
  • Sanford Clear Lake Medical Center, Clear Lake
  • Sioux Falls VA Healthcare System, Sioux Falls