CMS Primary Care Initiative


On April 22, 2019 the Centers of Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) introduced the CMS Primary Cares Initiative that will provide primary care practices and other providers with five new payment model options under two paths: (a) Primary Care First – or “PCF” and (b) Direct Contracting – or “DC”. These initiatives will be administered through the CMS Innovation Center (CMMI).

The five payment model options are:

  1. Primary Care First
  2. Primary Care First – High Need Populations
  3. Direct Contracting – Global
  4. Direct Contracting – Professional
  5. Direct Contracting – Geographic. CMS is seeking public comment on this particular payment model, expected to launch in January 2021.

To view the press release, click here.