Mental health services studied by legislative committee

The Access to Mental Health Services interim committee created by the South Dakota legislature held their first meeting in Pierre on June 28. The committee is tasked with reviewing mental health services available in the state, the capacity of available services, the financial impact to the state and others, how persons with mental illness are treated and the continuum of care. Sen. Deb Soholt chairs the committee and Rep. Herman Otten is vice-chair. View committee members.

Eleven community mental health centers offer services to South Dakotans. These centers provide screenings and assessments, case management, individual and group therapy and crisis intervention. The state also has one state-owned and operated psychiatric hospital, the Human Services Center (HSC), in Yankton.

The next committee meeting will be at HSC in Yankton on Aug. 8. Meetings are open to the public and time is set aside for public comment. The committee will also tour HSC and visit with staff members.

Click here to listen to audio of the June 28 meeting, as well as to view the agenda and all documents submitted.