Mental Health Task Forces Start to Meet in July

The Executive Board of the South Dakota Legislature made the final member appointments at its June 10 meeting. Sixty legislators and non-legislators have been appointed to serve on five legislative interim task forces studying mental health issues in South Dakota.

The full memberships include:

Redefine Acute Mental Health Hospitalization Task Force: Rep. Michael Diedrich (chair), Sen. Kris Langer (vice chair), Rep. Timothy Johns, Sen. Craig Kennedy, Greg Barnier, Judy Carroll, Terry Dosch, Amy Iversen-Pollreisz, Kari Johnston, Gary Marx, Amber Reints, and Katie Sullivan

Reduce the Overall Use of Acute Mental Health Hospitalizations Task Force: Sen. Alan Solano (chair), Rep. Erin Healy (vice chair), Sen. Margaret Sutton, Rep. Steven Haugaard, Teri Corrigan, Jill Franken, Amy Iversen-Pollreisz, Jim Kinyon, Steve Lindquist, Dianna Marshall, Tom Stanage, and Barry Tice

Leverage Telehealth and Telemedicine Task Force: Sen. Deb Soholt (chair), Rep. Herman Otten (vice chair), Sen. Jim Stalzer, Rep. Linda Duba, Rep. Tamara St. John, Brian Erickson, Amy Hartman, Amy Iversen-Pollreisz, Rebecca Kiesow-Knudsen, Susan Kornder, Melita Rank, and Kelly Serr

Redefine Nursing Home Criteria and Build Capacity Task Force: Rep. Jean Hunhoff (chair), Rep. Rebecca Reimer (vice chair), Rep. Chris Johnson, Sen. Rocky Blare, Sen. Susan Wismer, Tony Erickson, Deepak Goyal, Amy Iversen-Pollreisz, Jeremy Johnson, Shawnie Rechtenbaugh, Phil Samuelson, and Laura Wilson

Increase Community Services and Caregiver Supports Task Force: Rep. Tim Reed (chair), Sen. Wayne Steinhauer (vice chair), Rep. Tina Mulally, Rep. Carl Perry, Sen. Red Dawn Foster, Jesse Bailey, Colleen Casavan, Wendy Giebink, Amy Iversen-Pollreisz, Anne Kelly, Brandy Rhead, and Pam Vanmeeteren

The Reduce the Overall Use of Acute Mental Health Hospitalization Task Force meets on July 9 at 10:00 a.m. and the Increase Community Services and Caregiver Supports Task Force meets on July 19 at 10:00 a.m.

Full committee and task force memberships can be viewed on 2019 Interim Page along with along with agendas, minutes, and other meeting documents. ​