HomeLatest NewsAgendas Announced for Mental Health Task Force Meetings

Agendas Announced for Mental Health Task Force Meetings

Senate Concurrent Resolution 2, passed during the 2019 Legislation Session, included a task forces to examine:

Redefine Nursing Home Criteria and Build Capacity

How to redefine Human Service Center (HSC) nursing home admission criteria and build mental health nursing home capacity for persons with organic brain damage.

This task force met on Wednesday, July 17, 2019, at 10:00 a.m. For information on the meeting, click here.

The Task Force will begin by an overview of the long-term care unit at HSC; case studies with Rapid City Regional; and overview of state approaches for delivery of geropsychiatric care in institutional and community-based settings.

The Task Force members are Representative Jean Hunhoff, Chair; Representative Rebecca Reimer, Vice-Chair; Representative Chris Johnson; Senators Rocky Blare and Susan Wismer; and Public Members Anthony Erickson, Dr. Deepak Goyal, Amy Iversen-Pollreisz, Jeremy Johnson, Shawnie Rechtenbaugh, Phil Samuelson, and Laura Wilson.

Leverage Telehealth and Telemedicine Interim Legislative Committee

How to best leverage telehealth and telemedicine to the full appropriate extent, with focus on the areas of acute assessment and crisis supports, along with mental health assessments and counseling.

This task force met on Wednesday, July 17, 2019, at 10:00 a.m. For more information on the meeting, click here.

The Task Force will begin by reviewing the current state laws that provide for the use of telehealth and telemedicine; statewide virtual capacity and forthcoming enhancements; statewide perspective on the development of virtual mental health services; and Avera eCare Services and Recent Grants

The Task Force members are Senator Deb Soholt , Chair; Representative Herman Otten, Vice Chair; Senator Jim Stalzer , Representative Linda Duba, Representative Tamara St. John, Brian Erickson, Amy Hartman, Amy Iversen-Pollreisz, Rebecca Kiesow-Knudsen, Susan Kornde, Dr. Melita Rank, and Kelly Serr.

Increase Community Services and Caregiver Supports

How to increase the capacity for transitional housing and residential services in communities to keep individuals closer to home, and develop caregiver supports.

This task force will meet on Friday, July 19, 2019, at 10:00 a.m. (CT) in Room 413 of the State Capitol in Pierre, South Dakota. For information on this meeting, click here.

The Task Force will begin reviewing the role of mental health centers with housing and SD Department of Social Services, Services being provided.

The Task Force members are Representative Tim Reed (Chair), Senator Wayne Steinhauer (Vice Chair), Representative Tina Mulally, Representative Carl Perry, Senator Red Dawn Foster, Jesse Bailey, Colleen Casavan, Wendy Giebink, Amy Iversen-Pollreisz, Anne Kelly, Brandy Rhead, and Pam Van Meeteren.

The meetings are open to the public, and public testimony will be taken in the afternoon. ​


Stay Connected

Unified Voice Newsletter

Events This Month


09dec9:00 am4:30 pmWound Education DayWOCN event

12dec12:00 pm1:00 pmThe Supply Chain: Your Source for SavingsSDAHO Webinar

12dec12:30 pm2:00 pmEnd-of-Life Ethics: Cultural Competency (Member only session)SDAHO Webinar

13dec12:00 pm1:00 pmMusic and the Heart: Creating Therapeutic Support through Music and HeartbeatsSDAHO Webinar

13dec12:00 pm1:00 pmDimensions Training (member only session)SDAHO Webinar

By submitting this form, you are consenting to receive marketing emails from: . You can revoke your consent to receive emails at any time by using the SafeUnsubscribe® link, found at the bottom of every email. Emails are serviced by Constant Contact